45

Forty-five.

The number Forty-five has incredible significance to me right now. For one, it’s the number of the presidency of the scariest figurehead of the United States I’ve ever encountered in my many years as a human being.

On a more delightful note, forty-five is the number of days it took me to complete spec teleplays of two shows. I needed these spec scripts to submit to several network television diversity programs for writers. There’s more than one way to break-in, and although I have been focused on developing original concepts for series and shows,  I am not adverse to writing in someone else’s voice to keep those doors open.

I set about writing an episode of Sleepy Hollow, one of my favorite shows, which has also, coincidentally, been cancelled by Fox. Upon hearing of it’s cancellation, and learning that two of the TV networks I’d be submitting to did not accept SH spec scripts as writing samples I set about learning the fundamentals, character voices & tonality, story structure and pacing of another favorite show, the Netflix Original series, Jessica Jones.

I’m done. And I am very happy with both spec episodes especially since I was able to introduce characters from my original series concept in each script.  Doing so created a nice segue into my original sci-fi series concept pilot script.

Now, we wait.

Author: Angelo

I create worlds from words.

Leave a Reply

